Cauliflower Wings

For the first official post for Lauren’s Table I am going to share how to make one of our favorite healthy comfort foods, Cauliflower Wings. Now, some of you may think this is weird or even a bit gross, but I’m telling you now, they are amazing and it is absolutely  feels like you are eating junk food!!

20170707_191628To start the most important step is preparing your Mise en place (French for to put in place).

The first step is to cut the cauliflower into florets – For this I needed a cutting board, a bowl to put the cauliflower in after it’s cut, a chef, and a pairing knife.

I also made sure I secured the cutting board – I wet and ring out a clean dishcloth and make sure it’s centered when I put cutting board down.

I had my station set, so I put on my apron, my side towel, and washed my hands – I was ready to get started.

I removed the plastic from the cauliflower but I left it intact and opened it up enough so I could put the scraps of the outer leafy layer and the shoot inside.

20170707_164935 - Copy

20170707_164943 - Copy

I laid the cauliflower on its side and  cut off a portion of the shoot and leaves without cutting the cauliflower itself. Then with the bottom facing up  I used a pairing knife to cut up small bundles of the florets and separate  it from the main bundle.

Now that I had smaller bundles I removed any leaves and from the stem I cut the florets in half. I only cut through about half way and pulled apart the rest with my hands. This makes sure the cauliflower doesn’t break completely.

After all the cauliflower was cut, I made the batter.  I experimented a bit and tried to make the wings more Paleo by using coconut flour- I would NOT recommend that!! Use glutten free flour if you want, but the coconut flour got way, way too thick. The process is still all the same. So even though the substitution was a fail, the steps and final product are still all the same.

I used a 2 cup glass measuring cup, measure out the almond milk, added the flour, the spices then combined everything together with a whisk.  I then took out half the cauliflower out of the bowl and added about 1/4 of the batter.

I added in the rest of the batter and the remaining cauliflower until each piece is coated.

Then I filled a parchment paper lined cookie sheet with the floret and baked them at 425 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  While these were cooking, I prepared the three sauces. 20170707_172513

I made a BBQ, a Buffalo, and a Saracha (these were not all Paleo 😦 ). I kept the sauces pretty close to how they naturally come but added  1/2-1 Tbsp agave and 1-2 Tbs. soy sauce to thin each sauce out a bit. The BBQ is the thickest sauce normally so it needed more to get it to the right consistency.

I also added a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg to the buffalo and added garlic salt to the Saracha.  Once the cauliflower had roasted, I brushed each cauliflower piece with sauce then put back into the oven for 15-20 minutes.

I do get a bit impatient with this process and sometimes switch to a spoon and use a pancake turner to help coat the pieces faster.

Here is the yummy end product!20170707_191628

Cauliflower wings

  • 1 head of cauliflower cut into Florets
  • 1 cup milk (I use almond)
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 2 tsp. garlic salt
  • 1 /2 tsp. Hot Slap Ya Mama (any Creole seasoning will work)
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Cut cauliflower head into florets
  3. Mix the Milk, flour, and spices together in a large liquid measuring cup.
  4. Pour 1/4 of the batter on to 1/2 the cauliflower.  Add batter and cauliflower until completely combined. place on baking sheet in a singe layer.
  5. bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown. turn florets half way through baking .
  6. While cauliflower is baking prepare the sauce.
  7. Once cauliflower is done, coat the “wings” with sauce and return to the oven and bake for another 15-20 minutes. Serve with ranch and enjoy!!!

Adapted from hotforfood and gimmedelicious

Leave a Reply

